The road to Plan MBA

Here was Plan A:

Go to journalism school, work my way up through the ranks, learn my craft and eventually score a job writing for the New York Times. Or the Washington Post. Or one of the well-crafted news and analysis magazines.

It was the ideal career path for a curious, language-loving, math-phobic dork.

Everything was going great. I had a good job at a metro daily newspaper, I’d won some journalism awards and I could see myself growing as a reporter. I loved my life.

And then the economy and history and fate happened. All at once.

The digital age finally caught up with newspapers and their business model shattered. About the same time the economy took a nose dive and I ended up in an online job that was more about marketing and advertising than journalism.

At my going away party with Stacy

At my going away party with Stacy

Suddenly the world of journalism that I based my life plan on no longer existed. Even if I made it to the New York Times (a difficult proposition when newspapers were laying off journalists and the ones who were left had a death grip on their jobs), it wouldn’t be the same New York Times and my dream job would be a memory.

It was time for a Plan B. For me, that was an MBA.

I’ve taken the GMAT, suffered through the application and interview process and quit my job. Now it’s time. I’m actually going through with my Plan B.

Let’s see what happens.

About missmba

What happens when a language-loving, mathphobic liberal arts major goes jumps on the MBA train. Follow my adventures at a top 20 business school.
This entry was posted in MBA decision. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The road to Plan MBA

  1. spanis says:

    II must say that this info is what I was searching for ! Keep writing more 😉

Leave a Reply

