Loga- what?

When was the last time you used a logarithm?

Yeah, me neither. I hadn’t seen them since I gratefully left calculus behind in the eleventh grade. I knew that log 12 meant something but I had no idea what. Nor did I think it would ever matter again.

Which it didn’t, until I took a required math skills exam for my business school.

Math tests and No. 2 pencils. Heaven help me.

Math tests and No. 2 pencils. Heaven help me.

In addition to questions about exponents, statistics and algebraic equations, there were logarithms. And once I reaquainted myself with them (check out this tutorial if you’re curious) I had to wonder how anyone would ever use this in business.

I guess that’s one of the answers I’ll get over the next two years. I hope.

About missmba

What happens when a language-loving, mathphobic liberal arts major goes jumps on the MBA train. Follow my adventures at a top 20 business school.
This entry was posted in Math. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Loga- what?

  1. Lizzie says:

    Don’t be so sure you’re going to get an answer to that… I am pretty sure I used a logarithm exactly once during those two years. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

