That’s how much?

Forget hidden credit card fees. I want President Obama’s new financial regulations to unearth those hidden grad school fees.

What fees, you ask?

I already knew about tuition (in the neighborhood of $48,000 a year). I budgeted for living expenses – rent, food, gas, health insurance (actually President Obama, I could use some help with that too). I figured I’d spend $100 or so on books. I even made the painful cuts necessary to afford the $900 Penske rental truck to schlep my stuff, which was pure insanity. I thought I was set.

It's gone! All gone!

It's gone! All gone!

Then those hidden fees blew my pathetic little budget out of the water.

First there was the case studies materials fee (mostly covering copyrights): $1,500

Then there was the sign-up fee for Internet services (even though no one had to come out to actually set it up): $45

And the wireless router – not a necessity, but still: $70

Then add some super-special software I didn’t know I had to buy from the school: $95

Throw in a formatting fee from the computer guys who, as far as I can tell, took my machine and erased all my settings and bookmarks; shoved all my documents to a dark corner of my hard drive and put a really ugly image on my desktop: $200

And, finally, the external hard drive I probably should have bought years ago but which the tech guys scared me into buying (“The only people whose hard drives crash are the ones who don’t back up.”): $90

All told that’s $2,000 I didn’t expect to spend. Ouch. And there’s still time for more fees to creep in before classes start.

Desperate times call for desperate measures. Maybe I need to start trolling for sugar daddies or look into selling my nonessential organs to those rabbis in Hoboken. Or I could seek out some lonely-but-rich widows who need a nice young lady to listen to their stories, fetch their cough drops and feed their 85 cats.

Hmmmm.

Suggestions (and donations!) are always welcome.

About missmba

What happens when a language-loving, mathphobic liberal arts major goes jumps on the MBA train. Follow my adventures at a top 20 business school.
This entry was posted in Budget and money, Finance. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to That’s how much?

  1. Atish says:

    totally get your feelings…
    to add to it, if you are an international without a credit history? then add $500 deposit for the phone which just lies there doing nothing for a year !
    P.S. I want that job.. clicking “Next” on 6 laptops for an hour and getting paid 100 bucks for each of them 🙂

  2. ron horvath says:

    Welcome to the world of the “extras”. It’s everywhere.

  3. Julie says:

    Oh no… I’m scared about taking my computer in for orientation now!

Leave a Reply

