Who’s stupid now?

We’ve only been in class for two days. Two days. Already it feels like two months.

Why, you ask? Isn’t grad school a holding pen for slackers who couldn’t keep a job in the real world? A two-year vacation?

Not here it’s not.

I spent 15 hours yesterday on school work. That’s 15 hours net, after you take out the time I slept, ate and showered. That’s five hours of class, six hours of individual course work and four hours with my study group. And that doesn’t include the time I should have factored in to work on my internship search.

Before classes started, a second-year student in my program described the first year of business school this way: “It’s like trying to drink from a fire hydrant. You just can’t get it all.”

How right she was.

But despite all this course work, class time and preparation, I still feel pretty stupid. I can look at a case (we learn by the case study method here, which means examining business problems and trying to solve them) and still have no idea how to crack it. Sometimes I don’t even know how to wedge my toe in it.

It’s frustrating. And it makes me feel stupid and slow, especially when other people grasp it faster than I do.

When I get really frustrated, I remember the other thing that wise second-year student told me:

“Trust the process.”

It sounds so Zen, so “find the flow,” so Dr. Phil. So un-business school.

But, strangely, it helps.

Those three little words remind me that this school has educated thousands of students before me — some who had even less business experience and smarts than I do. And those people came out on the other side competent, smart, savvy business people.   Surely if I give it my all, I will be just as fortunate.

The process works. Trust the process.

About missmba

What happens when a language-loving, mathphobic liberal arts major goes jumps on the MBA train. Follow my adventures at a top 20 business school.
This entry was posted in Classes, Math, Stress, Stupid. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

