I love chalk

chalk

My b-school uses chalk. Not whiteboards, not dry erase markers. Chalk.

I haven’t had chalk in the classroom since elementary school. I forgot how great it is.

No huffing nasty fumes from dry erase markers. No nasty black soot from the white board erasers. No trying to write with a pen that’s dried out and barely eking by.

And forget nails on a chalkboard – I hate the sound of dry erase markers squeaking across a white board.

Chalk is so simple and effective. Sure, there’s dust. But there are also vibrant colors that never fade out and that satisfying click of the chalk tapping out its message on the crisp blackboard. Even holding a piece of chalk is different. It feels substantial and real in your hands – not like those featherweight plastic markers.

I know, I’m odd. But I love chalk. So much so I want to write an ode to chalk. Or maybe just a haiku:

Green dust on my hands

Chalk words fly across the board

So satisfying.

OK, that’s not so good. Check out Haiku-o-Matic for other lousy (and not-so-lousy) haikus.

About missmba

What happens when a language-loving, mathphobic liberal arts major goes jumps on the MBA train. Follow my adventures at a top 20 business school.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

