Guess who’s blogging?

 I’m not the only one blogging here in MBA-land. As you can see on my blogroll (look to the right, a little more, right there!), plenty of other b-school students are pouring out their thoughts on WordPress, probably because it’s a nice change from the spreadsheets and data analysis that fill our days.

But someone else is blogging too – our dean. And I think his blog is one of the most thoughtful and insightful ones I’ve read about the MBA experience. The fact that this very busy man – who when I first met him the was about to embark on a trip that would take him to London, India and Colombia – takes the time to speak directly to his community impresses me. It says something about what he values.

And since I’m a social media junkie, the fact that he’s on Twitter impresses me that little bit more. (follow him @Bob_Bruner. I know I did!)

In this latest entry, he encourages business leaders to get on the blogging/Twittering/social media boat. Apparently CEOs are worried that blogging and tweeting will make them look like fools but our dean makes the argument that they’re missing a valuable opportunity. Communication is one of the keys to leading and blogging/tweeting/social media are the ways many of their employees, shareholders and industry leaders are communicating now. And those CEOs just might learn something by listening when others talk back.

I come from a culture that’s very comfortable with communicating – in all media. So it’s nice to know I’ve landed in a place that values that too.

About missmba

What happens when a language-loving, mathphobic liberal arts major goes jumps on the MBA train. Follow my adventures at a top 20 business school.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Career, Communication. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

