Cannon ball!

It’s sad that my new idea of a vacation is exam week.

But that’s a little what last week felt like. Just five hours a day of exam-taking followed by studying stuff I’d already learned.cannonballEDIT

Compare that to a typical b-school week that includes five hours of classes, six hours of trying to teach yourself new concepts, three hours of study groups and shoe-horning in networking calls, emails and briefings.

So, yeah, last week felt like a break. I even had time to go to Target. Twice.

Which meant that yesterday felt like the first day back at work after vacation. And it was a roooough re-entry.

I woke up late. I took too long to get dressed. I didn’t eat breakfast. Finance class made my head spin. I nearly fell asleep in a company briefing. I slogged through the evening’s cases. I collapsed in bed at 10:30 p.m., ridiculously exhausted.

It could have been easier. I could have prepped more in advance. I could have picked out my outfit the night before. I could have woken up earlier.

But I didn’t do any of that. Why? Because I’m in denial.

When the first quarter ended, I felt this enormous sense of accomplishment. I was smarter after my first two months at school. I had tackled concepts I’d never heard of before (NPV, anyone?) and did things with Excel I never knew were possible. It was challenging and exciting and fantastic.

And I never want to do it again.

I knew that first quarter would be hard. But I didn’t know how hard it would be. But this time, this time I know. I’m like a kid standing on the edge of a freezing swimming pool with my water wings on. I have to jump in but that’s hard to do when I know exactly how cold the water is.

Good thing I have no choice but to hold my nose, close my eyes and do a cannon ball.

About missmba

What happens when a language-loving, mathphobic liberal arts major goes jumps on the MBA train. Follow my adventures at a top 20 business school.
This entry was posted in Classes, Exams, Fear, Learning, Math, Stress. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

