Enough, already

I spent the last five years here, in sunny South Florida. This was the view just two blocks from my pink Spanish-style 1920s bungalow.

I miss Florida

And here’s the beach, just five minutes from my house.

Palm Beach. Siiiigh.

And now, here’s what I’ve been living in for the last month and a half.

Winter wonderland? Yeah right.

It looks lovely, right? I thought so too – the first time it snowed after Thanksgiving. I was enchanted, reliving childhood memories of making snow angels and drinking hot cocoa by the window as the snow fell outside. After not seeing snow fall in five years, I found it refreshing.

But now it’s almost Valentine’s Day, and Charlottesville has seen four more snowfalls. It’s official: I’m sick of snow.

We haven’t seen the grass in weeks. There’s a mountain of snow piled outside my window by the lovely managers of my apartment complex, blocking the little sunlight we get for a few hours each day. Walking to Darden each day is an exercise in ice dancing. I now own a snow shovel, three pairs of snow-worthy boots and a pair of snow pants. It’s cold, there’s frozen stuff falling from the sky and the wind is blowing it in my face.

And none of it would be so bad if we had snow days, like when we were kids. But no, Darden closes for no man, woman or snowstorm. One of the librarians said that in her 30 years at the school, it’s closed exactly twice.

I miss Florida.

Luckily I’ve booked an escape to the Sunshine State for the end of this month to attend my dear friend Leslie’s wedding. Fingers crossed that a snowstorm doesn’t blow through that weekend and ground me in Charlottesville.

Update: My brother just reminded me that we used to fantasize about this volume of snow when we were kids so we could build snowmen like Calvin & Hobbes. For those of you who don’t know the iconic and hilarious cartoons, check them out here.

About missmba

What happens when a language-loving, mathphobic liberal arts major goes jumps on the MBA train. Follow my adventures at a top 20 business school.
This entry was posted in Florida, Snow. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Enough, already

  1. Karl says:

    What do you mean? You have yet to build Calvin and Hobbes snowmen with all that snow. 🙂

    I can almost see mom reading this then standing and shouting: “VINDICATION!”

  2. missmba says:

    I need your help on the snowmen! I can’t remember them all — and I certainly can’t roll/pack that much snow on my own.

    And, yes, I think something along the lines of “I told you so” is going through Mom’s mind right now.

  3. JulyDream says:

    I feel your pain! I’m in Stockholm, Sweden – studying abroad. Let’s just say, it has looked as C’ville does now since I arrived in January. Not to mention, everywhere I go still feels cold! I’m moving SOUTH! Maybe Aruba… or anywhere else close to the equator. 😉

Leave a Reply

