A few of my favorite things

Since I haven’t been writing much this summer (blame work, blame summer weather, blame laziness), I thought I’d do my readers a favor and offer them a few of my favorite writers to fill the gap.

Women Having It All

Guys, don’t be turned off by the title. This blog by Kelly, an incredibly talented writer I had the pleasure of working with back in the day at the Palm Beach Post, is laugh-out-loud funny and poignant at the same time.

Kelly has no trouble saying the things in her head the rest of us are afraid to admit to. As a result, her blog is a perfectly honest and raw voice in a world full of perfectly polished. And everyone knows honest and raw is way more interesting than polish.

Brunch Bird

More uber awesome writing from another uber talented veteran of the Palm Beach Post (man, that place churned out some great writers). Fair warning: This blog by Cynthia is inactive but I still get a ton of pleasure from reading past entries because her writing is so smart, her observations so witty and her wit so sharp.

Cynthia is busy with a job, a husband, a house and a brand new baby, but I keep hoping she’ll take to the keyboard again. Soon.

 Dr. Grumpy in the House

This guy I don’t know! He’s apparently a neurologist with no patience for the idiot patients that enter his office waiting room, the foolish insurance company workers who deny his claims or the other idiot doctors that refer him patients. Lucky for us, he’s also hysterically funny.

This Land

Dan Barry has the job in journalism I always wanted. He writes a weekly national column for the New York Times, traveling to a new destination every week to tell the story you haven’t heard but can’t live without. He’s a powerful writer who can take a huge story, like the BP oil spill, and uncover a new truth or unearth a small story that makes you see the world differently. Or more completely.

Carolyn Hax Live

My weekly guilty pleasure. I love reading the transcripts of these live chats with the Washington Post’s advice columnist because it reminds me that other people’s lives are waaaaay more complicated and screwed up than mine. Plus Carolyn’s no-nonsense style is a satisfying antidote to the whiny commenters.

About missmba

What happens when a language-loving, mathphobic liberal arts major goes jumps on the MBA train. Follow my adventures at a top 20 business school.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Fun, Reading, Summer internship, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A few of my favorite things

  1. Joy says:

    Thank you for exposing me to Brunch Bird. Her punchy posts are the right mix of funny and outrage.

  2. missmba says:

    I’m so glad you like it! I’m hoping Cynthia decides to start blogging again. She’s an amazing writer.

Leave a Reply

