Buy brands, fight communism

I worry sometimes that pursuing a career in brand management isn’t particularly noble or good for society. I’m especially reminded of that fact when I talk with my boyfriend, who’s pursuing jobs with companies that make innovative life-saving drugs and medical devices.

Because of his work, people will live better lives. Because of mine, they’ll … buy more granola bars.

Or so I thought.

“You know,” Boyfriend said. “What you do is good for society.”

Oh really? I asked.

“Follow me. You build these brands that have value and mean something to people. You work hard to protect them and you constantly try to innovate so you can keep your brand strong.”

OK…

“And if you don’t have that kind of innovation and diversity, you have Communist Russia. They could only buy white bread. No wheat or nine-grain or sourdough or baguettes or rye or pumpernickel.

“And while I usually like wheat bread, once in awhile I want the option to have nine-grain, sourdough, baguettes, rye or, when I’m feeling crazy, pumpernickel. Brand management enables that.”

So basically brand managers fight communism? I asked. I’m like the Truman Doctrine?

“Yes!”

There you have it, ladies and gents. Buy brands, fight communism.

About missmba

What happens when a language-loving, mathphobic liberal arts major goes jumps on the MBA train. Follow my adventures at a top 20 business school.
This entry was posted in Brand management, brands, Career, Career decision, communism and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Buy brands, fight communism

  1. Anonymous says:

    Brand managers may try to convince the Afghanistanis that need McDonalds and Coke for sustainance
    Brand managers are probably the reason why the US, having only 3 or 4 % of the world’s poulation, consumes a third of the world’s resources. Maintaining this imbalance requires force.
    So arent they promoting institutionalized terrorism??
    Just the two sides of the coin.

  2. missmba says:

    Thanks for offering another side. I’m definitely not completely sanguine about my potential career path. But, on the flip side, I got some static for being a journalist too. A lot of people seemed to equate that with being unethical, but anyone who has done it knows there are ethical and unethical journalists. It’s a choice.

  3. Pingback: Fridays From the Frontline - Clear Admit Blog

Leave a Reply

