What a difference a year makes

Life at Darden right now is smooth. We’ve just come off more than a month of break. Classes haven’t ramped up yet and our stress over them is minimal anyway, because, hey, it’s our last semester here. And many of my SY friends have jobs, which means the major worry of SY is behind them.

So we have time to watch football, throw birthday parties, go to the park with our dogs – and write blog entries.

But I was reminded yesterday that life is decidedly NOT smooth right now for First Years.

They are in the throes of interview season, walking to school in suits and their “good” shoes, mock interviewing every chance they get and reviewing grocery store shelves, case frameworks and investment banking gobbly gook. They are sweating closed lists and second round lists and those good news/bad news emails and phone calls that end the whole process.

I was reminded by a FY who I did a mock interview with. She’s lovely and is on track to do well. But when she pulled out her notebook full of scribbled ideas, notes on previous mock interviews and prep questions, I was transported back to last year. I had an Excel spreadsheet instead of a notebook, but otherwise I was pretty much in her shoes.

I reviewed every possible interview question. I did a dozen mock interviews, sitting down with any SY, career coach or coffee shop patron who would quiz me. I sweated closed lists, big time, and I had trouble sleeping. I froze to death, teetering to school in my skirt suit and heels. It was really hard to focus on classes.

And then I got internship offers. And the whole world just looked brighter.

So, to all the business school First Years out there who are suffering through interview season, take heart. The hard work will be worth it. I promise.

And your last quarter is going to be AWESOME.

About missmba

What happens when a language-loving, mathphobic liberal arts major goes jumps on the MBA train. Follow my adventures at a top 20 business school.
This entry was posted in Career, Career decision, Darden, Internship, Investment Banking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What a difference a year makes

  1. Pingback: Fridays From the Frontline | IPhone Development Programming

  2. Pingback: Application Strategery (Part 1) | Boots to Suits

Leave a Reply

