The value of an MBA

Should you skip the tuition and just by a $12.50 MBA?

There are a lot of measures of the value of an MBA and some people have been questioning if it‘s worth its salt recently.

But the dollar value of my MBA hit home when I filed my taxes this week.

I earned more this year that I’ve been in b-school than I did in almost every year of my pre-Darden working life.

That’s a combo of three months of internship salary and signing bonus, neither of which are as high as my classmates entering more lucrative fields like investment banking or consulting. So my MBA could have been worth even more …

(Side note: This means either I was paid really well this summer or really poorly before. Since I was a journalist, I’ll go with the latter. It’s another example of how pay doesn’t always equal importance. Good journalists uphold the First Amendment. In my new job, I’ll be selling cereal. It’s not quite the same.)

Lucky for me, earning my MBA has always been about more than the potential monetary payoff (something you may have figured out if you’re a frequent reader of this blog). My time at Darden has been worth it for the new skills I’ve learned, the network I’ve built, and, yes, my future husband who I met here.

And the money is a nice bonus.

About missmba

What happens when a language-loving, mathphobic liberal arts major goes jumps on the MBA train. Follow my adventures at a top 20 business school.
This entry was posted in Career, Career decision, Internship, Investment Banking, MBA decision and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The value of an MBA

  1. Pingback: BUSINESS CAPITAL » Blog Archive Retain Working Capital Guarantee scheme

  2. Pingback: Fridays From the Frontline « Clear Admit: MBA Admissions Consultants Blog

  3. singhsboy says:

    hello mam ..I agree with ……u

  4. Courtney says:

    Kudos for this refreshing perspective. I’ve just read the entire blog — every single post starting from July 2009 on — and as a future applicant, it was tremendously helpful to read about the personal experiences of another woman with a non-traditional career background. Thank you!

    • missmba says:

      Thanks Courtney! I’m flattered that you read the whole thing and found it useful. I just looked at your blog and it’s awesome. It’s great to see more language-loving folks pursuing MBAs. If you have any questions about b-school in general or Darden in particular, let me know!

  5. Jenn says:

    This post cracked me up (and by “cracked me up,” I guess I mean “resonated with me”) for a bunch of reasons. Reason 1) My summer internship earned me more than my entire pre-Kellogg working like, 2) I also do not measure the value of my MBA monetarily, 3) I also met a great guy at business school in spite of the hazards of dating there.

Leave a Reply

