Last chance, baby: The Baby Bucket List

Traveling in Le Baux in Provence -- and checking off an item from my Baby Bucket List.

Visiting Le Baux in Provence — and checking off an item from my Baby Bucket List.

I’m 26 weeks pregnant — which means I only have 14 weeks until my life is radically, permanently changed.

I’m excited to meet the wee chick who’s been turning somersaults behind my belly button. But I also feel like there’s a countdown clock on my old life, and time has almost run out.

Coincidentally, I’m also unemployed for the next 14 weeks. Long story short, I’m living in Switzerland and on a leave of absence from my job. For the first time in 11 years I’m not working or in grad school.

It feels like the perfect time to work on a Baby Bucket List.

For me, a Baby Bucket List isn’t really about the baby. I’m already covering my bases in prepping for the birth – prenatal yoga, birth classes, visiting the hospital, buying all the supplies, reading Dr. Spock.

No, for me a Baby Bucket List is the stuff I want to do now because once the baby arrives, I won’t be able to do it again for months or even years. These are the things I love to do or have always wanted to do – and, in my mind, this is my last chance to do them for a long while.

I have five big things on my Baby Bucket List right now – travel, write, read, exercise and bake. But because I’m Type A, I’m worried there are important things I’ve forgotten. What else will be rare to impossible to do once the baby arrives? What else should be on my Baby Bucket List?

To all the moms out there, I need your help. Help me make by Baby Bucket List complete. I want to know:

  • What else should I do over the next 14 weeks to take full advantage of this time?
  • What do you wish you’d done more of before your first baby was born?
  • What do you wish you’d done less of? What was a waste of time?

I’ll take the best ideas I receive, add them to Baby Bucket List and write about the experience here.

Here’s a big thank you in advance to all the mom’s out there who will help me make these last 14 weeks count.

About missmba

What happens when a language-loving, mathphobic liberal arts major goes jumps on the MBA train. Follow my adventures at a top 20 business school.
This entry was posted in Baby, Ex-pat life, Family, Type A and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

